20-22 Jun 2013 Paris (France)

About the IASPM > Presentation of the IASPM

 Why the IASPM?

The International Advanced Seminar in the Philosophy of Medicine (IASPM) aims to offer a biennial international three-day event for PhD students and early-career researchers in philosophy of medicine to meet, exchange ideas, acquire a general background in the discipline and present their work.

The IASPM Consortium

Five institutions that have teaching programs or research activity in philosophy of medicine are organizing this event together: the Institut d'Histoire et de Philosophie des Sciences et des Techniques (CNRS/University Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne/ENS), the Institute for the History, Philosophy and Ethics of Medicine (Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz), the European School of Molecular Medicine (in collaboration with the research group "Biomedical Humanities" at the European Institute of Oncology, Milan), the Center for Humanities and Health at King's College in London, and the Department of History and Philosophy of Science at the University of Pittsburgh.

The IASPM 2013

The first meeting of this conference, sponsored by Anne Fagot-Largeault (Former chair of the IHPST and former professor at the College de France), will be held in Paris, at the Institute for History and Philosophy of Sciences and Techniques from June 20 to June 22, 2013. The main theme of the conference will be "Unity and autonomy in the philosophy of medical science.”

The seminar will gather twenty-six speakers, five senior researchers and twenty-one junior researchers in philosophy of medicine, drawn from the organizing universities and others. Three parallel closing workshops will also be held, co-organized by three senior/junior researcher teams.

Who can submit to the IASPM 2013?

The twenty-one junior researchers are being selected through a two-step procedure.
First, the members of the consortium have elected eleven speakers among their own Phd and post-Phd students. Second, there is a call for papers open to any junior researcher (Phd student, post-doc student, or a researcher that defended his or her Phd thesis within the past five years) interested in philosophy of medicine. The submissions will be blindly reviewed by a scientific comittee composed by five senior researchers coming from the IASPM consortium. Ten juniors researchers will be selected through this procedure.   


Online user: 1 RSS Feed